In a match many believed to be one sided, Bayern Munich manager Pep Guardiola could not see his side come out victorious as he accuses Manchester United’s Wayne Rooney of taking a dive late resulting in Bastian Schweinsteiger’s second yellow, ensuring his exclusion from next week’s encounter.

A few minutes before the final whistle of the UEFA Champions League quarter-final first leg tie, Schweinsteiger made a sliding tackle on the United forward before being shown his second yellow, much to the anger of the Bayern manager as he was seen making diving gestures on the sidelines.

However, in a post match interview, Guardiola refrained from voicing his accusations at the England international, but instead gave his opinions on the match referee, Carlos Velasco Carballo.

“I spoke with the referee,” he said. “He’s a very good referee. He made a very, very good game but it’s unfair [this red card]. But it’s OK. If you want to win the Champions League you have to solve and overcome everything during the competition. I gave my opinion to the referee, that’s all,” Guardiola told The Guardian.

The Spanish manager didn’t believe the tackle was worthy of a second yellow as he now has to pick a replacement for the banned midfielder.

On the other hand, David Moyes disagrees with the Bayern manager stating that it was indeed a bookable offence.

In a very tight encounter, United captain Nemanja Vidic scored with a header in the 58th minute before Schweinstieger equalized less than ten minutes later. Moyes was able to keep hold of the game as the Bundesliga champions could only come out of the tie with a 1-1 draw.

 

For your chance to WIN two tickets to Everton vs Manchester United on Sunday April 20 AND a copy of FIFA14, simply comment below with your score prediction for the game...

Step 1

SIGN IN WITH
FACEBOOK

Step 2

LIKE OUR
FACEBOOK PAGE

Step 3

PREDICT THE SCORE
BELOW

Don't have a Facebook account? See our T&C's for alternative entry.

Share with friends for an extra chance to win

These friends would love this!

You must complete Step 1 and 2 first!