Manchester United manager Louis van Gaal has claimed that Ashley Young did not dive to win a penalty against Sunderland on Sunday night, Daily Mail reports.

Young was deemed to have dived in the Black Cats’ penalty box after going past Wes Brown’s out-stretched leg, with referee Martin Atkinson booking the winger.

WANT MORE? >> Manchester United Transfer News | Latest Transfer News

Van Gaal however thinks differently of the situation, telling Sky Sports: “He (Young) was free at the ball.

“He lifted the ball across the player (Brown) and the opponent is kicking him.

“So after that he was jumping too much I think but what counts is that he was kicked by the opponent and then the referee can give a penalty.”

When prompted whether the Englishman dived, Van Gaal replied: “No I don’t think so. He was tackled in my opinion but after that he was exaggerating.

“It is not diving because he was not touched by the opponent and I think that is always the reason and the rest is rubbish.”

The Red Devils were held to a 1-1 draw by Gus Poyet’s men at the Stadium of Light, with Mata opening the scoring before Jack Rodwell levelling the score before half-time.

 

What do you think?

Sign in with Facebook and be
entered for a chance to
Win a pair of Puma evoPOWER football boots

Terms and Conditions

Why?

  • Sign up in 2 seconds
  • Use your FB profile image
  • No need to remember a password
  • See which of your friends would like this

Note: We don't post to your wall

Login

Comment without logging in

You will need to fill this out each time to comment so why not quickly login with Facebook!

*

What do you think?

Sign in with Facebook and be
entered for a chance to
Win a pair of Puma evoPOWER football boots

Terms and Conditions

Why login with Facebook?

  • Sign up in 2 seconds
  • Use your FB profile image
  • No need to remember a password
  • See which of your friends would like this

Note: We don't post to your wall