Gareth Bale rejects claims
Gareth Bale has rejected claims that he dived to win a penalty for Wales against Scotland on Friday night.
The Tottenham winger scored two late goals to earn the hosts a 2-1 victory over Craig Levein’s men at the Liberty Stadium, with Shaun Maloney adjudged to have tripped Bale for a penalty in the deciding goal.
Despite the anger of the Tartan Army and criticism in the media, Bale has insisted that the award of a spot-kick was just.
“Somebody clipped me and I went over. He (Maloney) clipped my leg and I couldn’t stay on my feet,” Bale told Sky Sports.
“It was a simple penalty and it was nice to get up and slot it away.
“I’ve missed a few when I’ve taken them in the past, but I fancied it. I was confident and thankfully I did step up,” he commented.
Meanwhile, national boss Chris Coleman has praised Bale, and stated that the attacker will go down as one of the nation’s best-ever players if he continues on his current path.
“Gareth wouldn’t be fazed by moving to Real Madrid, Barcelona or any other top club in the world.
“It’s not easy moving to another country and culture, but he has the character to handle that. He’s young and has it all in front of him.
“In this country we talk about the great John Charles, Ryan Giggs, Ian Rush. Southall was the best goalkeeper in the world,” added Coleman.
“There’s no doubt in my mind Gareth will be up there with those guys.
“He’s only 23. It’s not a case of ‘can he up there with those guys?’ He will be,” Coleman testified.