Capello opts to include Carragher

England national team head coach Fabio Capello has named Liverpool defender Jamie Carragher and Manchester City winger Adam Johnson in his 30-man provisional squad for this summer's World Cup finals.

Tottenham duo Michael Dawson and Tom Huddlestone have also won the nod, as has Sunderland striker Darren Bent, who scored 24 goals in the Premier League this season.

Centre-back Dawson and Citizens winger Johnson are the only two uncapped players named in the initial party.

West Ham's Scott Parker has been included among Capello's midfield possibles, while notable absentees are Aston Villa trio Ashley Young, Gabriel Agbonlahor and Stewart Downing as well as Manchester United schemer Owen Hargreaves.


Goalkeepers: Joe Hart, David James, Robert Green.

Defenders: Leighton Baines, Jamie Carragher, Ashley Cole, Michael Dawson, Rio Ferdinand, Glen Johnson, Ledley King, John Terry, Matthew Upson, Stephen Warnock.

Midfielders: Gareth Barry, Michael Carrick, Joe Cole, Steven Gerrard, Tom Huddlestone, Adam Johnson, Frank Lampard, Aaron Lennon, James Milner, Scott Parker, Theo Walcott, Shaun Wright-Phillips.

Forwards: Darren Bent, Peter Crouch, Jermain Defoe, Emile Heskey, Wayne Rooney.

Subscribe to Football FanCast News Headlines by Email