Fletcher left out of Scotland squad

Wolves striker Steven Fletcher remains on the outer with Scotland after missing out on selection for the Carling Nations Cup.Despite helping his club side out of the English Premier League relegation zone with five goals in the last five games, he was not selected in Craig Levein’s squad to face Wales on May 25 and the Republic of Ireland on May 29.

The relationship between the pair deteriorated when Fletcher was left out of Euro 2012 qualifying matches against Czech Republic and Spain, before informing Levein he did not want to be selected to face Northern Ireland in February.

Levein said Fletcher needed to prove he wanted to be involved with the national team.

“The situation with Steven is exactly the same as before. If Steven indicates to me that he wants to be involved in the Scotland national team, then I’ll consider him,” he said.

“He just needs to open it (the door). I have absolutely no problem with Steven, as I’ve said in previous times, but really I’m here to talk about people who are selected.”

Levein will also be without captain Darren Fletcher, who cannot play in either the May 25 match against Wales or the meeting with the Republic of Ireland four days later because of Manchester United’s UEFA Champions League final clash with Barcelona.

Celtic winger James Forrest could be in line to make his international debut after being selected.

Leeds United striker Ross McCormack and Blackpool goalkeeper Matt Gilks have both been recalled, while Norwich full-back Russell Martin is a surprise inclusion.

Scotland squad: Goalkeepers: Matt Gilks (Blackpool), Allan McGregor (Rangers), Iain Turner (Everton).

Defenders: Phil Bardsley (Sunderland), Christophe Berra (Wolves), Gary Caldwell (Wigan Athletic), Stephen Crainey (Blackpool), Grant Hanley (Blackburn Rovers), Russell Martin (Norwich City), Steven Whittaker (Rangers), Danny Wilson (Liverpool).

Midfielders: Charlie Adam (Blackpool), Barry Bannan (Aston Villa), Scott Brown (Celtic), Kris Commons (Celtic), James Forrest (Celtic), James McArthur (Wigan Athletic), James Morrison (West Bromwich Albion), Barry Robson (Middlesbrough).

Forwards: Craig Mackail-Smith (Peterborough), Chris Maguire (Aberdeen), Ross McCormack (Leeds United), Kenny Miller (Bursaspor), Steven Naismith (Rangers).