Former Man United star wins Ballon D’or

Former Manchester United superstar Cristiano Ronaldo beats Lionel Messi and Franck Ribery to win the FIFA 2013 Ballon D’or in Zurich last night, BBC reports.

The Real Madrid forward has ended Messi’s 4 year winning streak and wins it for the second time, the first being in 2008.

In other categories, German goalkeeper Nadine Angerer won the Women’s Player of the Year, while Bayern Munich manager Jupp Heynckes received the Coach of the Year award.

Ronaldo won the voting with 1365 points, compared to Messi’s 1,205 and Ribery’s 1,127, where votes were given by 184 coaches, 184 national captains and 173 journalists around the world.

The highlights of Ronaldo’s year include scoring an amazing 66 goals in 56 games and a sensational hat-trick against Sweden to put his country into this year’s World Cup.

“First of all, I have to say a great thanks to all of my team-mates with the club and the national team,” Ronaldo said in tears during his speech. “Without all of their efforts this would not have been possible. I am very happy, it is very difficult to win this award.

“Everybody that has been involved with me on a personal level, I have to thank. My wife, my friends, my son. It is a tremendously emotional moment. All I can say is thank you to everybody that has been involved.”

The Puskas Award, given to the best goal of the year, went to Zlatan Ibrahimovic’s audacious 30-yard bicycle kick against England back in November 2012 (his fourth goal that night).

Fifa world team of the year

Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)

Dani Alves (Barcelona)

Thiago Silva (PSG)

Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich)

Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)

Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich)

Xavi (Barcelona)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (PSG)

Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

Click below for great Mercedes offers!

man utd vs spurs


Switch to Snack Football to browse all blogs, videos and new featured content
snack football unit grey closesnack football unit green-tick