Manchester United striker adamant he did not dive

Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney has dismissed claims that he dived in order to get Bastian Schweinsteiger sent off in their UEFA Champions League first leg 1-1 draw with Bayern Munich.

The German midfielder appealed to the ref with a diving gesture – so did Pep Guardiola – but it was in vain.

Schweinsteiger will therefore miss the second leg clash at the Alliance Arena with a sem-final spot on the line.

Rooney went to comment on the incident, telling Sky Sports: “I don’t really want to say what [Schweinsteiger] said, but I thought it was a foul.

“If I didn’t get out of the way he could have hurt me, he’s gone in with his studs and the referee has booked him, so it’s not my decision.

“It’s not nice to see anyone get sent off. I didn’t try and get him sent off, the referee has made the decision. I have tried to stop myself from getting hurt and the referee has had a decision to make.

“He’s a great player and he’s obviously someone they will miss – and [Javi] Martinez as well being suspended – but they have a great squad of players who can come in.”

Manchester United was dominated by Bayern in possession – Red Devils only managed 26% – yet they had the better chances in the game.

And Rooney believes the tie could be so much better if fellow countryman Danny Welbeck didn’t attempt an audacious chip when facing Manuel Neuer in a one-on-one situation.

“We have watched videos of their goalkeeper and we know he is a bit like Peter Schmeichel in the way he comes out so it’s a bit disappointing that he tried to dink him but he will learn from that.

“I’m sure if he gets a chance over there he won’t do that again.”


Switch to Snack Football to browse all blogs, videos and new featured content
snack football unit grey closesnack football unit green-tick