McLeish livid with N’Gog’s dive

Furious Birmingham City boss Alex McLeish claimed Liverpool striker David N'Gog dived to win the penalty that rescued a point for the Reds from Monday's game between the two teams at Anfield.

N'Gog had given the Reds an early lead only for Anfield to be shocked by a first-half double by Christian Benitez and Cameron Jerome that gave the visitors the lead.

However, the game finished 2-2 after Lee Carsley was adjudged to have brought N'Gog down, although replays suggested no contact was made.

McLeish fumed after the draw, which lifted his team up to 15th in the table:"There's no real debate. Ngog has dived to win his team a penalty. It happens in the game and has done for years and years.

"The referee (Peter Walton) didn't get that one right, and when he looks at it again I am sure he will agree.

"He's an honest enough guy, but he will probably agree that their player dived, and it was a terrific dive. Lee Carsley never touched him.

"Lee dived in, and when you do that there is always a risk. But on this occasion there was no contact. That was not even close to being a penalty.

"I felt we were comfortable, but apart from when Gerrard made a late run to hit the post, I felt my defenders and the whole team were awesome.

"We scored two fine goals, a good set-piece for Benitez to get his first goal for us and then Jerome's cracker. It was a goal from the second it left his foot.

"The players deserve a lot of credit for the way they fought for everything."

Subscribe to Football FanCast News Headlines by Email