No English representation on award shortlist


England has failed to provide a single player on the 23-man shortlist for this year's FIFA's Ballon d'Or award.

Spain's World Cup winning squad dominates the list of nominees, with Barcelona quartet Xavi, Andres Iniesta, Carles Puyol and David Villa headlining their seven entrants.

Three Premier League players in Sunderland's Ghana international Asamoah Gyan, Ivory Coast striker Didier Drogba of Chelsea and Arsenal's Spanish midfielder Cesc Fabregas are in the running.

However, there are no English players on a shortlist which will be whittled down to just three candidates next month.

FIFA's Ballon d'Or award is a new combination of the traditional France Football magazine Ballon d'Or accolade and its World Player of the Year award.

Barcelona and Argentina star Lionel Messi currently holds both following a glittering last 12 months.

He alongside the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo of Real Madrid and Internazionale's Wesley Sneijder are the frontrunners for this year's prize.

Meanwhile, Jose Mourinho headlines the candidates for the inaugural World Coach of the Year award after guiding Inter to Champions League glory last season.

World Player of the Year nominees: Xabi Alonso (Spain), Daniel Alves (Brazil), Iker Casillas (Spain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast), Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon), Cesc Fabregas (Spain), Diego Forlan (Uruguay), Asamoah Gyan (Ghana), Andres Iniesta (Spain), Julio Cesar (Brazil), Miroslav Klose (Germany), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Maicon (Brazil), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas Muller (Germany), Mesut Ozil (Germany), Carles Puyol (Spain), Arjen Robben (Holland), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Wesley Sneijder (Holland), David Villa (Spain) and Xavi (Spain).

World Coach of the Year nominees: Carlo Ancelotti (Chelsea), Vicente del Bosque (Spain), Sir Alex Ferguson (Manchester United), Pep Guardiola (Barcelona), Joachim Low (Germany), Jose Mourinho (Inter Milan/Real Madrid), Oscar Tabarez (Uruguay), Louis Van Gaal (Bayern Munich), Bert van Marwijk (Holland) and Arsene Wenger (Arsenal).

Subscribe to Football FanCast News Headlines by Email