Roberto di Matteo rues Pablo Ibanez’s red card

400x400_1281810582_spt_ai_chelsea_v_wba_34

West Brom manager Roberto di Matteo thought the referee was wrong to send Pablo Ibanez off after just 11 minutes of Monday's 2-1 defeat at Blackpool.

Ibanez was dismissed after DJ Campbell fell under his challenge and, to add salt into Albion's wounds, Charlie Adam slotted home the spot-kick.

In the 29th minute, the Baggies were reduced to nine men when Gonzalo Jara was sent off for a two-footed lunge on Luke Varney, a decision di Matteo accepted.

Varney doubled Blackpool's advantage at a wet Bloomfield Road before Youssouf Mulumbu scored a late consolation effort for the Baggies.

After the match, di Matteo said of Ibanez's dismissal"I think it was probably a penalty, but I wouldn't see why it was a sending off. My player didn't tackle him or anything, he was goal-side. So I couldn't see why he was dismissed.

"The second one there is no discussion about it. It was a red card. It was a bad tackle, probably because of the frustration of the first one. He made a challenge that he doesn't really have to.

"It was a magnificent effort from our players, but it was just difficult when you are two men down. It's a big mountain to climb.

"The players handled themselves really well, it's a shame that we conceded the second goal because I fancied us to get a goal. That's what we did at the end and we nearly got the equaliser as well."

Subscribe to Football FanCast News Headlines by Email