Roo heads PFA award shortlist

Manchester United hot-shot Wayne Rooney is expected to be confirmed as Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year after being named on a four-man shortlist for this year's award.

Chelsea's Didier Drogba, Arsenal skipper Cesc Fabregas and Carlos Tevez of Manchester City are the other names in the running for the prestigious accolade.

Rooney has scored a career-best 34 goals for the Red Devils in all competitions this season.

The 24-year-old England star is bidding to become the fourth successive winner of the award to come from the Old Trafford club, following on from Ryan Giggs (2009) and Cristiano Ronaldo (2008 and 2007).

"Wayne has been absolutely phenomenal once again and in his new role this season, has created even more havoc for opposition defences," chief executive Gordon Taylor told the PFA's official website,

"When Cristiano Ronaldo was at United, he played more of a supporting role, but as the number one striker and goalscorer he is now one of the best in the world, not just in this country.

"He has always been prepared to work at all aspects of his game, and this season in particular, the improvement in his heading ability has been there for all to see. He's like a modern-day Dixie Dean."

Meanwhile, Rooney and Fabregas have also both been named on the shortlist for the Young Player of the Year accolade.

They have been joined by Aston Villa midfielder James Milner and Manchester City goalkeeper Joe Hart, who has spent the season on loan at Birmingham City.

Subscribe to Football FanCast News Headlines by Email


Switch to Snack Football to browse all blogs, videos and new featured content
snack football unit grey closesnack football unit green-tick