Wilshere, Carroll in England U21 squad

Arsenal midfielder Jack Wilshere has been included in the provisional 40-man England squad for the European Under-21 Championships in June.Liverpool striker Andy Carroll has also been selected by manager Stuart Pearce, along with four other players who have already received full international honours.

The 40-man squad for the tournament in Denmark will be reduced to 23 players by June 1.

The availability of Wilshere to the national team is a source of concern for Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger.

He is reluctant for the 19-year-old to take part in the tournament immediately after playing his first full season at senior level.

Carroll, 22, scored his first international goal for England in a friendly against Ghana on March 29, but has made no secret of his desire to also line-up for the under-21s.

“It can only be good for my career,” Carroll said in March.

“It’s important to start winning international tournaments early and hopefully you can take it to the world stage.”

Sunderland midfielder Jordan Henderson, Manchester City defender Micah Richards, Arsenal fullback Kieran Gibbs and Manchester United forward Danny Welbeck, on loan at Sunderland, are the other players selected who have already been capped at full international level.

England’s first match of the tournament is against Spain on June 8. The full squad is:

Goalkeepers: Frankie Fielding (Blackburn Rovers), Scott Loach (Watford), Jason Steele (Middlesbrough), Alex McCarthy (Reading).

Defenders: Joe Bennett (Middlesbrough), Ryan Bertrand (Chelsea), Kieran Gibbs (Arsenal), Phil Jones (Blackburn Rovers), Michael Mancienne (Wolverhampton Wanderers – loan from Chelsea), Ben Mee (Leicester City – loan from Manchester City), Kyle Naughton (Leicester City – loan from Tottenham), Micah Richards (Manchester City), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), James Tomkins (West Ham United), Kieran Trippier (Barnsley – loan from Manchester City), Kyle Walker (Aston Villa – loan from Tottenham Hotspur).

Midfielders: Marc Albrighton (Aston Villa), Jack Cork (Burnley – loan from Chelsea), Tom Cleverley (Wigan Athletic – loan from Man Utd), Mark Davies (Bolton Wanderers), Adam Hammill (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Jordan Henderson (Sunderland), Jonathan Howson (Leeds United), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Henri Lansbury (Norwich City – loan from Arsenal), Josh McEachran (Chelsea), Fabrice Muamba (Bolton Wanderers), Jack Rodwell (Everton), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Scott Sinclair (Swansea City), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).

Forwards: Andy Carroll (Liverpool), Nathan Delfouneso (Burnley – loan from Aston Villa), Gary Hooper (Celtic), Jay Rodriguez (Burnley), Freddie Sears (West Ham United), Daniel Sturridge (Bolton Wanderers – loan from Chelsea), James Vaughan (Crystal Palace – loan from Everton), Danny Welbeck (Sunderland – on loan from Man Utd), Connor Wickham (Ipswich Town).