Did this Man United star deserve an early bath?

In the 50th minute of Ecuador’s draw with France this evening, Manchester United winger Antonio Valencia saw red for his challenge on full back Lucas Digne. The South Americans needed to win by a two goal margin to qualify from Group E, a task made all but impossible by their captain’s dismissal.

With the performances of referees coming under heavy scrutiny after some questionable decisions in the competition so far, a debate over Valencia’s sending off inevitably ensued on Twitter.

For many, Noumandiez Doue made the correct decision in punishing a potentially leg-breaking challenge.

However, others believed the tackle had no malicious intentions and that Valencia did not deserve to be dismissed.

[ffccomp link=”https://www.footballfancast.com/football-blogs/win-a-pair-of-puma-tricks” oneliner=”For your chance to WIN a pair of Puma Tricks, simply comment below with who you think will win the Golden Boot in Brazil this summer…” step=”PREDICT THE GOLDEN BOOT WINNER BELOW” terms=”http://win-a-pair-of-puma-tricks.pen.io/” topics=”world cup, football, football boots, puma, tricks, soccer”]

Comments are closed on this article.

 


Switch to Snack Football to browse all blogs, videos and new featured content
snack football unit grey closesnack football unit green-tick