England squad announced for World Cup Qualifiers

Roy Hodgson has announced his latest England squad for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers against San Marino and Poland.

The big surprise is that Ryan Shawcross wins just his second call-up to the side, following Fabio Capello’s squad selection for the friendly against Egypt in March 2010.

Stephen Caulker who had been widely tipped to take the place of John Terry, takes his place in the Under-21 squad for the European Championship play-off against Serbia.

Jack Butland has also been drafted in by Stuart Pearce, after being involved with Hodgson’s squad at Euro 2012 and the previous qualifiers against Moldova and Ukraine.

Celtic’s Fraser Forster has replaced the talented 19-year-old stopper and is a rare choice from north of the border.

Meanwhile, Aaron Lennon’s international career has been resurrected, receiving his first call-up to the side since the 2010 World Cup after some impressive Premier League performances; and Arsenal’s Kieran Gibbs has been rewarded for his solid start to the season, taking the place of Chelsea’s Ryan Bertrand.

The full squad is as follows: Hart (Manchester City), Ruddy (Norwich), Forster (Celtic); Baines (Everton), Cahill (Chelsea), Cole (Chelsea), Gibbs (Arsenal), Jagielka (Everton), G Johnson (Liverpool), Lescott (Manchester City), Shawcross (Stoke), Walker (Tottenham); Carrick (Manchester United), Cleverley (Manchester United), Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Gerrard (Liverpool), A Johnson (Sunderland), Lennon (Tottenham), Lampard (Chelsea), Milner (Manchester City), Walcott (Arsenal); Carroll (West Ham, on loan from Liverpool), Defoe (Tottenham), Rooney (Manchester United), Welbeck (Manchester United).