Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Hodgson names England squad for Euro 2012

England manager Roy Hodgson has announced his England squad for Euro 2012, with no real surprises in the new head coach’s selection.

Manchester City goalkeeper Joe Hart is joined by Norwich’s John Ruddy and West Ham’s Robert Green in the 23-man contingent.

As rumoured in the press over the last 24 hours Rio Ferdinand has been left out at the expense of controversial Chelsea centre back John Terry, whilst Kyle Walker also misses out through injury.

Glen Johnson has been included as an option for right-back, with Phil Jones seemingly as backup, but there is no place for Micah Richards.

In midfield, seasoned campaigners Frank Lampard and Steven Gerrard are included, as is Scott Parker despite an injury scare. However Paul Scholes has not been selected, despite reports linking the Manchester United man to be interested in coming out of international retirement.

Stewart Downing is included on the flanks, as are Arsenal duo Theo Walcott and Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, but there is no place for Aaron Lennon.

In attack, Hodgson has only decided to take four strikers despite Wayne Rooney being suspended for the first two games, with Jermain Defoe, Andy Carroll and Danny Welbeck also travelling to Ukraine and Poland.

In reserve, five players including Phil Jagielka and Daniel Sturridge have been name in a stand-by list.

Squad in full:

Hart, Green, Ruddy, Jones, Baines, Cahill, Cole, Johnson, Lescott, Terry, Barry, Downing, Gerrard, Lampard, Oxlade-Chamberlain, Parker, Milner, Walcott, Young, Carroll, Defoe, Rooney, Welbeck.

Stand-by list:

Butland, Jagielka, Henderson, Adam Johnson, Sturridge.

Article title: Hodgson names England squad for Euro 2012

Please leave feedback to help us improve the site: