Liverpool star Mohamed Salah wins PFA Fans’ Player of the Year award

Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah has won the PFA Bristol Street Motors Player of the Year award after setting a new record for goals in a 38-game Premier League season.

In a poll run by fan engagement experts Snack Media, the Egyptian international took home 89% of the vote, beating title-winning Manchester City pair Raheem Sterling and Kevin De Bruyne, Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea, Tottenham striker Harry Kane and Chelsea’s talismanic star Eden Hazard.

In the first of four divisional votes carried out over seven days via Snack‚Äôs digital and social networks, football fans across the globe acknowledged Salah’s incredible rise since returning to Premier League last summer in a big-money move from Roma.

He’s not only defied the critics from his previous spell in England with Chelsea, but also emerged as Liverpool’s flagship attacking entity.

The full list of contenders from the final shortlist for the PFA Fans’ Player of the Year award polled as follows:

– Mohamed Salah (Liverpool) – 89%
– David De Gea (Manchester United) – 4%
– Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City) – 3%
– Eden Hazard (Chelsea) – 2%
– Harry Kane (Tottenham) – 1%
– Raheem Sterling (Manchester City) – 1%

Voting for the Championship Player of the Year award begins at 11am on Monday.