Five fixtures that could define Chelsea’s season

Well, where do Chelsea go from here? A comfortable title win last term has set the foundation for an era of Jose Mourinho Premier League dominance, with no team in the land looking capable of beating the Blues over 38 games. With strength and depth all over the pitch, there’ every chance of another crown next May.

And with an opening day record of 14 wins in their last 16, a kind home clash with Swansea could be the ideal springboard for success. The Blues battered newly promoted Burnley at the same stage of 2014/15, and from that point they didn’t look back.

Blues fans won’t have to wait long for a massive clash, with Manchester City at the Etihad Stadium set to follow the Swans tie. The two sides were the genuine title contenders of last term, so there will be no love lost on the turf in Manchester.

October 31 will see Liverpool travel to Stamford Bridge, which is sure to conjure memories of the epic bouts of the mid 2000s. Will there be ghost goals? Red cards? Controversy? Whatever the case, Jose is sure to be centre stage in a fixture he has enjoyed, in the league at least, through the years.

Deep into December (28th) Manchester United away awaits, which is sure to be a clash that will have some title connotations, even with the campaign at the midway point.

And way down the line at the end of April, Spurs at the Bridge could be one to keep an eye on. The Lilywhites stunned Mourinho’s men at White Hart Lane last season, so the Blues are sure to not take them lightly.

Sat 8 Aug Swansea City H

Sat 15 Aug Manchester City A

Sat 22 Aug West Bromwich Albion A

Sat 29 Aug Crystal Palace H

Sat 12 Sep Everton A

Sat 19 Sep Arsenal H

Sat 26 Sep Newcastle United A

Sat 3 Oct Southampton H

Sat 17 Oct Aston Villa H

Sat 24 Oct West Ham United A

Sat 31 Oct Liverpool H

Sat 7 Nov Stoke City A

Sat 21 Nov Norwich City H

Sat 28 Nov Tottenham Hotspur A

Sat 5 Dec Bournemouth H

Sat 12 Dec Leicester City A

Sat 19 Dec Sunderland H

Sat 26 Dec Watford H

Mon 28 Dec Manchester United A

Sat 2 Jan Crystal Palace A

Wed 13 Jan West Bromwich Albion H

Sat 16 Jan Everton H

Sat 23 Jan Arsenal A

Tue 2 Feb Watford A

Sat 6 Feb Manchester United H

Sat 13 Feb Newcastle United H

Sat 27 Feb Southampton A

Tue 1 Mar Norwich City A

Sat 5 Mar Stoke City H

Sat 12 Mar Liverpool A

Sat 19 Mar West Ham United H

Sat 2 Apr Aston Villa A

Sat 9 Apr Swansea City A

Sat 16 Apr Manchester City H

Sat 23 Apr Bournemouth A

Sat 30 Apr Tottenham Hotspur H

Sat 7 May Sunderland A

Sun 15 May Leicester City H

 


Switch to Snack Football to browse all blogs, videos and new featured content
snack football unit grey closesnack football unit green-tick