Wilfried Zaha has come under extreme criticism for the way he won Crystal Palace a penalty deep into his side’s Premier League clash with Arsenal.
Crystal Palace had opened the scoring via the penalty spot during first-half stoppage-time when Shkodran Mustafi needlessly went to ground in his own six-yard box, seemingly unaware that Cheikhou Kouyate was approaching from behind.
The Gunners then formed what is becoming their standard second-half resurgence and drew level thanks to an equalising free-kick Granit Xhaka perfectly placed into the far corner of the net, with fingertips all that Wayne Hennessey could get on it.
[brid autoplay=”true” video=”310054″ player=”12034″ title=”Rafa’s Pub Facts Fake Madrid & Ross Barkley Emulates… David Ngog”]
Five minutes later and the visitors had their second, and subsequently took the lead, when Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang poked the ball just over the line enough for goal line tech to rule in the Gunners’ favour.
Had VAR been in use at Selhurst Park, or the officials spotted the incident, the Gabonese striker’s goal would have been ruled out for a handball after Alexandre Lacazette helped the ball on with the use of his arm.
Justice, however, was evened out as the full-time whistle neared, as Zaha dazzled Xhaka, who was playing at left-back, before flicking the ball towards the byline and winning his side their second penalty of the game as the Arsenal midfielder turned into the attacker’s path.
The incident drew a lot of criticism, but there’s Eagles fans do not know why their star is being singled out.
For Info of all jealous opposition fans I’d just like to further add that just now on Ref Watch Dermot Gallagher and the other pundits have all unanimously said Zaha was fouled and it was 100% a penalty, no dive, just exactly like Xhaka himself said ????????#CPFC #CRYARS
— El Pablo (@eaglism) October 29, 2018
Lee Hurley from the Daily Cannon: Media ignore Wilfried Zaha’s dive to focus on Alexander Lacazette handball
Let me know when I can stop laughing at this coz Xhaka, who gave away the penalty, said it was a pentaly#cpfc
— Jonsta (@Jonsta1990) October 29, 2018
Sky sports saying another contentious penalty decision regarding Zaha? Nothing to do with xhaka confirming he wiped him out ??♂️??♂️ agenda against the guy is a joke ?? #cpfc
— Aaron Potts (@Apotts7) October 29, 2018
#cpfc sadly the myth that Zaha dives is perpetuated by talk radio stations as well as some tabloid journalists. Some people are just too dense to make decisions for themselves.
— Marcus Lawson (@MJLbirder) October 29, 2018
Great #MOTD2 show this evening. Rightfully highlighting Wan-Bissaka’s brilliance whilst confirming that it was a stonewall penalty. After seeing Willian & Martial’s dives I can’t quite believe all the attention is on Zaha. The agenda is beyond pathetic. #CPFC
— Nick ? (@Nick_CPFC) October 28, 2018
Everyone saying Zaha is a cheat and a diver and then Xhaka comes out and says it was a pen ??????? love it #cpfc
— Matt (@MattVRjones) October 28, 2018
— flove1998 (@flove1998) October 28, 2018