Fans baffled Clark, Jansson fail to make PFA Championship Team of the Year

Football fans have been left bewildered after Newcastle United’s Ciaran Clark and Leeds United defender Pontus Jansson failed to make the PFA Championship Team of the Year.

This morning the best XI of the second division were announced, with Ryan Sessegnon, Jamaal Lascelles, Lewis Dunk and Bruno Saltor making the back line.

Goalkeeper David Stockdale was picked, while Jonjo Shelvey, Aaron Mooy, Anthony Knockaert and Tom Cairney were also given the nod.

As expected, Newcastle’s Dwight Gayle and Leeds United star Chris Wood lead the line up front.

It is difficult to please everyone, but it seems that the majority of fans are confused that Lascelles has been selected over his teammate Clark.

Others feel that Jansson, who is currently on loan at Elland Road from Torino, is also deserving of a place in the team.

Both Clark and Jansson have played major parts in their respective club’s campaigns, with Newcastle closing in on automatic promotion to the Premier League and Leeds fighting for a playoff spot.

The pair’s omission became a big talking point on Twitter.


Switch to Snack Football to browse all blogs, videos and new featured content
snack football unit grey closesnack football unit green-tick