Mkhitaryan opts against voting for Mourinho in FIFA awards

It would not be a huge surprise if Henrikh Mkhitaryan was met with an awkward greeting from Manchester United manager Jose Mourinho on Tuesday morning.

Following the previous night’s ceremony in London crowning FIFA’s winners in ‘The Best’ awards, details of the votes were revealed.

Mourinho was a contender for the Best Coach of the Year, but it was Real Madrid boss Zinedine Zidane who picked up the gong for guiding the Spanish club to the La Liga title and Champions League glory last season.

With regards to the voting process, most players tend to stay loyal to their managers, but on this occasion, Mkhitaryan decided to snub Mourinho.

Instead, the Armenian international voted for Zidane, Juventus boss Massimiliano Allegri and Monaco coach Leonardo Jardim, according to the Metro.

Even Mourinho’s former player at Chelsea, Eden Hazard, voted for the Portuguese coach.

As expected, United fans had something to say about Mkhitaryan’s rejection.